Skip to main content

Norfolk/Wrentham - Local Town Pages

KPHS DECA Members Qualify for Upcoming State Career Development Conference

Freshmen members of King Philip DECA at their first-ever district conference. (Photo courtesy King Philip Regional School District)

King Philip DECA members competed at the Massachusetts DECA District Two Conference, which was held on Jan. 4-5 at the Mansfield Envision Hotel. The club is now moving onto the State Career Development Conference in Boston in March.

Students Zunairah Syeda and Ananya Boomintham received awards at the District Competition. (Photo courtesy King Philip Regional High School District)


“These recent accomplishments truly illustrate the pride our students have for this program,” said King Philip Advisor James Dow. “This would not be possible without the support we receive from our school and community. Our chapter now looks to our State Conference with optimism and excitement.”

Students competing at the district conference had to place in the top five in their respective categories in order to qualify for the state conference. Students were recognized for their hard work and efforts in the areas of marketing, community service, finance, hospitality and tourism.

KP DECA students who were recognized at the district conference include:

First Place Winners: Nora Garland, Audrina Jaber, Aidan Shaughnessy, Violet Berthiaume, Kiera Lawrence, Mia Costa, James Dow, Owen Collin, Ashleigh Guenette, Ava Rietz, Louise Bourque, Nora Tobichuk, Halle Miller, Eve Rose, Lucia Harmon, Gavin Hickey, Caitlin O’Brien, Beckett James, Evan Allen, Ananya Boominathan, Zunairah Syeda, Ethan Wolf, Hunter Wells, Will Leclair, Luke Anderson, Ryan Taylor, Steve Quartarone, Liam Nolan, Neel McGrath, Tyler Walker, Aidan Carone, Luke Reagan, Brady Ricci, Jake Van Hoesen, Jack Curran, Trevor Clyde, and Abby Hoyt.

Second Place Winners: Jacob Schmier, Dylan Spak, Jake Dacko, Paige Campbell, Ryan Simas, Colin Brady, Kaitlyn Ceurvels, Brycen Cloutier, Tommy Frazier, Kate O’Neil, Marisa Hughes, Caitlin Thompson, Emily Jacobsen, Caelan Quinn, Bridget Swezey, Sarah Glassser, and Madison Asprelli.

Third Place Winners: Kendall Noonan, Ryan Love, Lindsey Field, Shreyasram Nalla, Ian Mangini, Ryan Brown, Chris Delvecchio, Colin Chard, Drew Richards, Bethany Evans, Shelby Konosky, Ugo Ezemma, Olivia Florindi, Tia Persky, Keith Joseph, Charlie Morris, and Henry Leclair.

Fourth Place Winners: Alex D’Aiello, Thomas Lutfy, Eric Miles, Michael Flaherty, Lucas Raymond, Cooper Richards, Tanmayee Kolluri, Ella Bailey, Laura Disilva, Jett Tucker, Jack Haltom, Braedon Reilly, Ian Knott, Anthony Fraone, Greg Manley, Jason Lussier, Liam McGrath, Brian Hitchen, Cole Pitman, Isabelle Taylor, Sophia Collins, Sydney Paquette, Julia Devasto, and Eliot Davis.

Fifth Place Winners: Owen Troutman, Santo Rizzo, Will Campbell, Quinn Greenberg, Olivia Sisiti, Hayden Houdling, Jordan Host, Ella Sheehan, Mellysa Botelho, Addison Lewis, Ty DeCarteret, George Blakesley, Miller Kananowicz, James Hickey, Jacob D’Avignon, Ava Noonan, Hadley Jacobs, Donnelle Balunos, and Addie Townsend.

“We are all so proud of our chapter’s efforts and achievements so far,” DECA Vice President of Marketing Marisa Hughes said. “Ninety percent of our members will be attending the highly competitive state competition with DECA members from across Massachusetts.”

The King Philip DECA Chapter has also participated in chapter campaigns. The program earned Thrive Level in the Membership Campaign and Chapter Campaign, meaning King Philip will be able to send up to four DECA members to the International Career Development conference in Anaheim, California this April to participate in the Thrive Academy.